How to create a Medical Binder.

I thought I would share a post on how to create a medical binder. This binder will keep you safe if you are unable to speak or you have to go into hospital. Sometimes during stressful times such as going to hospital you cannot remember all of your information, allergies, medications, medical conditions etc so this binder will be a life saver not only to you but for the medical professionals that take care of you as well.

I made this binder after my scary incident when they thought I was having a aortic dissection I was not able to speak after a adverse reaction to a medication I received and I was not able to tell them about my neck and when they have to intubate they have be so very careful with my neck and I require fiberoptic intubation. My friend suggested a medical binder and I googled and googled and had to pull info from many places to get my binder all together. So hopefully this will help you and is simple for you to follow & complete.

I have a page in my binder with some fun, truthful sayings I know the nurses enjoyed looking at these. Also I must say some of them are very truthful and can also serve as a reminder about all the misconceptions there are out there. Like for example EDS is just being double jointed and doesn’t cause problems. We now know that EDS is a multi systemic degenerative condition and it is bringing awareness to how serious this condition really can be, and how hard individuals fight for there health.

All the Dr’s and nurses appreciated my binder, as it saves my brain fogged brain trying to explain all this and they can either take a copy of this or I always have extra copies so they can take the papers out and take them if they needed.

What you will need to make your medical binder:

  1. Binder, with a clear pocket on the front so you can place your cover sheet. (Between 1-3″ depending on how much info you must include).
  2. Divider tabs
  3. Clear tabs that have a pocket to hold papers, I put extra copies in these and write extra copies so they know they can take a sheet.
  4. 3 hole punch
  5. Paper/printer
  6. Copies of your medical records/ documents

The medical binder is structured like this:

  • 1: Cover sheet as in the example. Tuck this into the front clear cover on the binder. It’s great to have your picture and the information and I also included pictures of my neck because sometimes when people can visually see what it is actually like they tend to be more gentle and have more awareness of how gentle they must be.

(Example)

  • 2: Medical Information such as your name, DOB, blood type if known, emergency contacts, allergies, medications you currently take, dr’s name and contact info, as well as your pharmacist and contact info for them.

(Example, don’t mind the black marker just had to black out my information)

  • 3: The next page I have in my binder is the surgical/ anaesthetic precautions for EDS patients. This is critical to have and to have several copies so your surgeon, Anaesthetist, you can pin a copy to your gown so that everyone is aware of your special requirements during a surgery, when you will not be able to speak for yourself. Print 5-10 copies so you always have extra of these, probably the most important page in your binder. Here is the link from Dr. Spanos:

https://alanspanosmd.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Surgical_and_Anesthetic_Precautions_2nd_revision.pdf

  • 4: Past medical history: you can point form write out past medical history from most recent to older history. This will also save you from explaining all of this and is easier for the medical staff to read off your sheet.

(Example)

  • 5: In another part I included all my most recent pertinent doctor letters and referrals and reports like my post operative dictated report, imaging reports etc all communications that could be needed. Place these in most recent to older order. And be sure to make copies of these in case these get misplaced then you have hard copies of your own in a safe place. Remember your medical files are yours, you legally have a right to access them. Your dr may charge you a fee for copies but it is your right to ask for copies of everything and I mean everything anytime I have a appointment I get copies of everything. You wouldn’t believe how many errors are in your notes, mistakes happen and if you know this it will save you in the long run. I know it may seem over the top to some but when you have complex health issues you need to have your own copies so that you can read thru and understand and see if any errors have been made.
  • 6: If you have uncommon or rarely discussed medical conditions I also have printed off for example for EDS from this it has all the non professional papers from the EDS society, about all the organ systems in the body that can be affected. The articles explain what can happen with each of them. Don’t worry that it says non professional as my dr said she is not a professional in EDS no one really is because we are all life long students in learning about EDS. This is the link where you can access these articles and print them off.

https://www.ehlers-danlos.com/2017-eds-classification-non-experts/

I also would suggest having extra paper in your binder in case you need to write anything down and having a pen tucked inside as well. Being prepared will also help give you will have more confidence the next time your in need of help.

Remember you are in charge of your care and taking care of yourself. Doctors are human and cannot possibly remember everything and have very high patient load volumes, this is why it is important for you to keep copies of everything and create a medical binder.

If you cannot make one yourself ask a friend or family member to help, or feel free to ask me I’d be happy to help you create your documents. There is so much less stress having to make a hospital trip having this all organized and not having to worry that you forgot to mention a important piece of information.

It’s so important to have this, especially if you have complex health issues or have serious allergies or take medications. I will never go to a hospital without my binder, things happen and not every medical professional will know or understand your condition(s). Providing the best resources you have will help everyone all around and save you frustrations and time. Plus when you need documented proof of your condition you have it on hand so no one can doubt you. All my nurses were extremely happy to see my binder and read thru it, as well as especially the ER dr’s we’re happy to see this binder. I mention EDS and you can see bewilderment in there eyes and when they see the binder it’s a huge relief to them, they will appreciate it, and take you more seriously.

I hope you find this blog post helpful! Please feel free to contact me if you’d like some help in creating your medical binder, it makes my heart happy to know that you will stay safe and not have to endure the frustrations or anxieties that these unexpected or expected visits can bring.

Happy New Year wishing all of you much health & happiness as we enter into this 2019th year. 😊💜

1 thought on “How to create a Medical Binder.

Leave a comment